Forge Sheffield: Old Bradfield Waterworks
Nestled alongside a Sheffield Countryside lane sits an out-of-place building which used to be one of Bradfield’s main water works.
The works was built in 1913 for the filtration of water from the nearby Dale Dike and Agden reservoirs. It was a cutting edge facility in its time, and served well with the Yorkshire Water Authority taking over in in 1974. The UK’s water industry became privatised in 1989 which lead to the site being abandoned in 1994. It still stands untouched after 21 years.
Inside, a dark and dingy expanse with flittering pockets of light trickle in through the geometric sky lights. Pumps, valves and different vats litter the floor of the main filtration room and the hall’s vast walls lend themselves to huge murals by local graffiti artists. Pieces regularly change as artists update and outdo each other’s work.
Many of the rooms are lit up from the distinct windows made up of rectangular pieces of glass which quaintly light up certain rooms, showcasing the grime and rust ridden machinery that lies dormant. The centre of the complex is split with a long corridor with mould climbing from the floor and up the walls giving it a naturally overgrown forest walkway feel, not that of a hallway in a man-made building.
The water has long gone and left in its wake sandy floors and mould ridden corridors as the hardy Loxley countryside slowly engulfs the building’s industrial past.
Tom Plant takes to the dilapidated building with his trusty camera in tow, snapping all that crosses his path. Follow Tom on Instagram @__plant__.