Picnic Cinema

Picnic Cinema is a touring Cinema travelling across England. Catch cult classics in castles, comedies in courtyards and horror films in forests.

 

The next best thing in cinematic events since Sheffield Doc/Fest, Picnic Cinema does outdoor cinema like no other. Stunning scenery and locations across England are transformed into unique cinemas to show some of the best films around, with fancy dress, camping and more, this travelling cinema brings a boutique festival vibe to movie watching.

 

 

You can catch screenings of Withnail and I right in the courtyard of Uncle Monty's House near Shap in Cumbria, with only 100 tickets available, this one is in very high demand. Travelling southwards, The Forestry Commission is in partnership with The Picnic Cinema, bringing the fear factor to forests across the country with The Blair Witch Project and 28 Days Later. Cult classic, The Big Lebowski and the brilliant Monty Python's The Life of Brian will also be shown across throughout the tour. And where else to watch Robin Hood Men in Tights than in Sherwood Forest itself.

 

Muncaster Castle, The Bowes Museum and Lowther Castle are set to be the stunning backdrops to screenings of The Shining and The Woman in Black. Good luck to those brave souls camping after these two.

 

 

The closest screenings to home are The Blair Witch Project in Dalby Forest, near Pickering, N. Yorks on Wednesday 23rd July, and Sherwood Forest in Nottingham. You could also pop over the Pennines on Wednesday 13th August to be scared witless with a screening of zombie thriller 28 Days Later.

 

For tickets and more info head to www.picniccinema.co.uk or phone 01768 899444.
 

All of Picnic Cinema's profits go to supporting arts charity Eden Art's rural touring cinema programme, Remote, which brings cinema equipment free to rural villages in Eden, Cumbria.

PICNIC CINEMA TOUR 2014

Thurs 3rd – Sat 5th Jul WITHNAIL AND I (15)
Sleddale Hall, nr. Shap, Cumbria (camping only)
 
Fri 11th Jul MONTY PYTHON’S LIFE OF BRIAN (15) 
Hamsterley Forest, County Durham
 
Sat 12th Jul CLOSE ENCOUNTERS OF THE THIRD KIND (PG) 
  Hamsterley Forest, C. Durham
 
Wed 16th Jul THE WOMAN IN BLACK (15)
Lowther Castle, Cumbria (non-camping event)
 
Fri 18th Jul THE SHINING (18) 
Muncaster Castle, Ravenglass, Cumbria
 
Sat 19th Jul GREASE (PG) 
Muncaster Castle, Ravenglass, Cumbria
 
Wed 23rd Jul THE BLAIR WITCH PROJECT (15) 
Dalby Forest, nr Pickering, N. Yorks
 
Fri 25th Jul THE BLAIR WITCH PROJECT (15) 
Sherwood Pines Forest Park, Notts.
 
Sat 26th Jul ROBIN HOOD MEN IN TIGHTS (PG) 
Sherwood Pines Forest Park, Notts.
 
Thurs 31st Jul WITHNAIL & I (15) 
Thetford Forest (High Lodge), Suffolk
 
Fri 1st Aug  28 DAYS LATER (18) 
Thetford Forest (High Lodge), Suffolk
 
Sat 2nd Aug CLOSE ENCOUNTERS OF THE THIRD KIND (PG) 
  Thetford Forest, Suffolk
 
Wed 6th Aug THE BLAIR WITCH PROJECT (15)
Wyre Forest, Worcs. (non-camping event)
 
Fri 8th Aug THE BLAIR WITCH PROJECT (15) 
West Woods Forest,Wiltshire
 
Sat 9th Aug THE HUNGER GAMES (12A) 
West Woods Forest, Nr Marlborough, Wiltshire
 
Wed 13th Aug 28 DAYS LATER (18) 
Gisburn Forest, Lancs

 




There are no comments

Add yours